External Motivation

"Fuck it we fix it in post (or the editor tells us to fix it I guess)" - A friend of mine

"Museum of failure or gallery of trying?"*

"[Writing] is something you learn to do by doing it." - Echo Gillette**

"If I didn't allow myself to be silly, I simply would not make anything at all." - V.S. Kay

"I don't want to live the wrong life and then die." - Arthur Leander, Station Eleven

"Do it scared."

"Do it weird."

"Do it stupid."

"Write it badly, dude, but write it!"

"You can always edit a bad page. You can't edit a blank page." - Jodi Picoult

"I just give myself permission to suck. I find this hugely freeing." - John Green

"The first draft is you telling yourself the story." - Terry Pratchett***

"Thinking about writing is not writing." - Alexa Donne

"I may be cringe, but you're mean, and that's worse."

"How are you ever gonna do anything for ten years if you can't even do it for one day?" - Drew Gooden

"At least try to connect with people."

"Bigger idiots than you have done it."

"A year from now you may wish you had started today." - Karen Lamb

"I am but a note in the great song of mankind." - V.S. Kay

"Write that weird fanfic."

"You can look out the window forever, but you have to open the door to get anywhere."

"Dude, sucking at something is the first step towards being sorta good at something." - Jake the Dog, Adventure Time

"If you don't look at your past work and cringe, you haven't improved."

*Unattributed quotes come from individuals whose names are unknown, whether by me or by others.

**The original quote is "Drawing is something you learn to do by doing it," which rings just as true. It has been adjusted for my purposes.

***Supposedly.

Back to Writing Help

⋅•⋅⊰∙∘☽༓☾∘∙⊱⋅•⋅